## SANTA FE TRAIL USD 434 BOARD OF EDUCATION

## Regular Meeting January 14, 2015 6 p.m.

## **Santa Fe Trail District Administrative Center**

Call to Order Randy Boudeman called the meeting to order at 6 p.	.m.
--	-----

**Board Members Present** Randy Boudeman, Zac Anshutz, Chris Kendall, Michele

Ferris, Amy Crotinger, Clayton Lee, and Dana Mentzer.

**Board Members Absent** None

Administrators & Others

Amy Hill, Steve Pegram, Patrick Graham, Michael Flax,

David Fernkopf, Jennifer Hanni, Keith Johnson, Ryan

David Fernkopf, Jennifer Hanni, Keith Johnson, Ryan Vaughn, LeRoy Ming, Kayla Chiddix, and Jordan

Herrick.

Agenda Approval Motion by Clayton Lee, second by Zac Anshutz, to

approve the amended agenda adding to item 4.4

Employment of Personnel, Cheryl Bolz. Motion carried

7-0.

Public/Department Communication

None

Consent Agenda Items

Motion by Clayton Lee, second by Amy Crotinger, to approve the amended consent agenda. Motion carried 7-0.

- Approve the minutes of the December 10, 2014 meeting.
- Approved the December 2014 treasurer's report.
- Approved the December 2014 school activity fund reports.
- Approved the employment of Cheryl Bolz, Kansas Reading Roadmap.
- Approved the check journal as presented.
- Accepted the \$500 donation of Christiana Valasquez & Jenee Urbanek Valasquez to the high school volleyball program.
- Accepted the resignation of Connie Wipf, high school food service.
- Accepted the retirement notice of Joy Schmidt, high school counselor.

Administrators

Administrators were present to report first semester

student data to the board.

Items from the Past for Reconsideration

**District Mowing Bid** Motion by Amy Crotinger, second by Chris Kendall, to

seek bids for district mowing services. Motion carried

7-0.

**Kansas Reading Roadmap** 

Reviewed approved spring semester budget for program.

New Items for Discussion and Consideration

**2015-16 School Calendar** Motion by Dana Mentzer, second by Chris Kendall, to

approve the presented 2015-16 calendar. Motion carried

7-0.

**Proposed KASB District Policies** Motion by Amy Crotinger, second by Zac Anshutz, to

approve the presented policies: CEA, Superintendent Qualifications; CEC, Superintendent Recruitment; EBBA, Hazardous Waste Inspection and Disposal; GAOE, Workers Compensation; GARA, Bloodborne Pathogen Exposure Control Plan; GAT, Staff Use of Communication Devices; Protection of Pupil Rights Amendment; JBC, Enrollment; JBD, Absences and Excuses; JCAB, Searches of Property; JDC, Probation; JDD, Suspension and Expulsion Procedures. Motion

carried 7-0.

**Excessive Tardiness** Discussion of differences in tardy policy amongst

schools.

**Items Added to the Agenda** None.

**Executive Session** Motion by Clayton Lee, second by Zac Anshutz, to enter

executive session to discuss personnel matters of nonelected personnel in order to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed and that we return to open session in this room at 7:35 pm, with Dr. Pegram

present. Motion carried 7-0.

Clayton Lee, Dana Mentzer, Amy Crotinger, Randy Boudeman, Chris Kendall, Michele Ferris returned to open session at 7:35 pm. No action was taken.

Motion by Clay Lee, second by Dana Mentzer, to enter executive session to discuss negotiations in order to protect the public interest in negotiating a fair and equitable contract, and that we return to open session in this room at 8 pm, with Dr. Pegram present. Motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to open session at 8 pm.

Dr. Pegram recommended the board extend administrative contracts through the 2016-17 school year, contingent on the district not having to make budget reductions due to reduced state funding or changes made to the funding formula for the 2016-17 school year. Motion by Amy Crotinger, second by Dana Mentzer. Motion carried 7-0.

**Superintendent's Report** 

Three Lakes Education Cooperative Report Mileage/expense/overtime report Review BOE Calendar

**Next Regular Board Meeting** 

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Adjournment

President Randy Boudeman adjourned the meeting at 8:04 pm

Amy Hill, Clerk	
Randy Boudeman, President	