SANTA FE TRAIL USD 434 BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular Meeting May 10, 2017 6 p.m.

Santa Fe Trail District Administrative Center

Call to OrderRandy Boudeman called the meeting to order at 6 p.m.

Board Members Present Randy Boudeman, Michele Ferris, Amy Crotinger,

Clayton Lee, Jason Supple and Zac Anshutz.

Board Members Absent None

Administrators & Others

present

Amy Hill, Steve Pegram, Patrick Graham, Keith Johnson, David Fernkopf, Michael Flax, Kristy Hamit,

Shelly Robinson, Tanner Black.

Agenda Approval Motion by Clay Lee, second by Michele Ferris, to

approve the amended agenda adding to item 4.4

Employment of Personnel: Fawl, Duncan, Baker, Dewey,

Olorunfemi, high school summer weights personnel.

Motion carried 6-0.

Budget Hearing to Amend

Budget

Motion by Amy Crotinger, second by Jason Supple, to approve the amended budget fund code 07 – federal

programs. Motion carried 6-0.

Public/Department Communication

None.

Consent Agenda

Motion by Clay Lee, second by Zac Anshutz, to approve the amended consent agenda. Motion carried 6-0.

- Approve the minutes of the April 12, 2017 meeting.
- Approved the April 2017 treasurer's reports.
- Approved the April 2017 school activity fund reports.
- Approved the employment of Amanda Sherlock, M step 10; Ashley Dawson, M Step 9; Anna Fragel, BS Step 1; Summer food service staff Tabatha Llamas, Shari Untz, Wendi Greene, Jessica Davis, Dana Workman at \$12 per hour; FAST LANE summer program part-time help Trenton May at \$8 per hour and Emily Morris at \$10 per hour; Ann Fawl, high school assistant volleyball coach; Justin Duncan, .33 fte assistant football coach; Nick Baker, high school assistant boys basketball coach; Jr. high summer weights Brit Dewey and Elizabeth Olorunfemi at

\$1000 each; High school summer weights staff dividing \$4000.

• Approved payment of the check journal.

Administrators

Written reports were presented.

Items from the Past for Reconsideration

District Strategic Plan/Accreditation

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Jason Supple, to approve the community involvement plan, course offerings plan and curriculum plan. Motion carried 6-0.

Board of Education Vacancy

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Clay Lee, to accept the board of education resignation of Chris Kendall. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Zac Anshutz, second by Jason Supple, to adopt the resolution authorizing the board of education vacancy published in the Osage County Herald-Chronicle. Motion carried 6-0.

SFTHS Multi-Zone Bid Approval

Motion by Clay Lee, second by Michele Ferris, to approve the bid of McElroy's at \$125,935 for the high school multi-zone unit replacement. Motion carried 6-0.

New Items for Discussion and Consideration

Computer Fee

Topic will return for discussion at the June 2017 meeting.

Capital Outlay Bids

Motion by Clay Lee, second by Jason Supple, to accept the bid of Sunflower Paving for \$39,146 for 6" asphalt pavement at Overbrook Attendance Center. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Clay Lee, second by Zac Anshutz, to approve the bid of Black Excavating, Inc. in the amount of \$17,811.50 for concrete work at the high school. Motion carried 6-0.

Opaa Pricing for 17-18

Motion by Michele Ferris, second by Zac Anshutz, to approve the presented contract with Opaa Food Management for the 2017-18 school year. Motion carried 6-0.

District Surveys, Preschool & College/Career Conferences	Review of survey results.
Items Added to the Agenda	None
Executive Session	Motion by Clay Lee, second by Zac Anshutz, to enter executive session for 10 minutes to discuss matters affecting a student in order to protect the privacy interests of the individual to be discussed and that we return to open session in this room at 6:50 pm. with Dr. Pegram present. Motion carried 6-0.
	The board returned to open session at 6:50 pm.
	No action was taken.
Superintendent's Report	Three Lakes Education Cooperative Report Mileage/expense/overtime report Review BOE Calendar
Next Regular Board Meeting	Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Adjournment	President Randy Boudeman adjourned the meeting at 6:54 pm.
Amy Hill, Clerk	
Randy Boudeman, President	<u>_</u>